Chikin Ramen

21 Dec

“Blasphemy!”

I can hear the outcry, as I post about instant noodles. As a believer and supporter of eating fresh produce, I am a foodie with my own dark secrets. I would like to think I’m not the only one. But yes, curse me all you want, purists, but yes! I LOVE INSTANT NOODLES.

I have my favourites, and for different occasions (Korean ones for my special ramen hotpot, my usual ‘Little Boy’ brand ones otherwise). But I was intrigued with this instant noodles that the Neighbour was utterly obsessed with, so much so that she brought back to Sydney almost half a suitcase worth from Singapore, and requested even more from a cousin who followed her 2 weeks later. What is the magic?

I must say, first-off, was the concave shape of the dried noodles. It seemed like a special reservoir for cracking an egg into it, and without understanding a single word of Japanese, the pictures made it seem clear that I guessed right. The other interesting bit, was that there is no additional packets of soup powder or sauce. It was just the noodles with the odd concave. Apparently, all the flavour was already in the noodles, to make it even more fuss-free, so all you need to do is crack an egg in and pour in the hot water, then wait.

And…

… Presto!!

Visually appealing, fuss-free, and easypeasy, guilty-pleasure yummylicious!

Okay, now I sort of get the hype..

6 Responses to “Chikin Ramen”

  1. mademoiselle délicieuse December 21, 2010 at 8:54 am #

    What did they taste like? Think friends of mine bought this and didn’t like it, mainly because they preferred the texture of instant noodles that still require cooking.

    • Sook January 6, 2011 at 1:59 pm #

      oops sorry for the late reply! They taste pretty alright, very simple, but I personally prefer the Chu Qian Yi Ding noodles better, even if they take more effort! But this is intriguing and simple, no doubt. It’s like cup noodles, but even simpler!

  2. Ellie (Almost Bourdain) December 24, 2010 at 12:23 pm #

    This is so cool!!! Merry Christmas & Happy New Year to you and your family!

  3. obesebaby December 29, 2010 at 2:53 pm #

    I always cook instant noodle like that too with an egg on top! yummy
    Happy new yr to u =)

  4. ourfoodtales January 30, 2011 at 4:25 pm #

    oh wow!

    I never knew there is such instant noodle exist!

    wow… I must buy some to try. I think Mr. Hubby would love it!

  5. loveramen July 15, 2011 at 6:06 pm #

    yay for instant noodles!! My snack drawer at work looks like it belongs to a korean teenage boy. Hot&Spicy Shin Ramyun to the hilt!

Leave a Reply

