A gift that’s a cut above the rest

23 Jun

Rachel and I have been friends since we were 8 years old. Besides primary school where we met, we grew up in completely different schools, but we remained friends to this day. So it was natural for me to put her up at my place in Sydney while she was visiting for a month, I would think, and I really don’t think too much about it, really. After all, what are friends for? Especially after 15 years of friendship!

But Rachel insisted on getting me a gift anyway, as a thank you and parting gift. I was completely bowled over and left flabbergasted as the box was presented to me, with Shun stamped proudly on the lid. Not quite knowing what to say is an understatement to describe how I was. Just a day or two before we were at the Essential Ingredient, and I went ga-ga over the display knife – hard not to do when I have been keeping my eye out for a good chef’s knife for some time now. Rachel, who had been stressing over what to get me as a gift, saw it as a beacon of light, and worked out a plan to amuse then astound me.

I know how much this knife costs, and the first thought that ran through my head was, “I can’t accept this!”. But I won’t deny that I felt a great deal of excitement and joy from just looking at the box, much less into the box. And when I did… Lifting that knife, it’s so light in the hand, and it fits so comfortably in the hand due to the D-shaped handle. Some people prefer a 10-inch, or a heavy knife of German make, perhaps, but this was great for me and my needs at this point. It took me ages to tear my eyes or hands off it, and using it has been a dream. Besides the gramophone I received for my 21st, this rates as the best gift I have ever received. I think, knowing beyond myself that it would be something that I want very badly, something I would not get for myself so readily, and going to those lengths to achieve it for me.. It’s epic, that’s what it is. –> I am obviously still bowled over.

So looking at my old knife, then my new Shun. Old knife. Shun.

Shun… Oh, definitely, yes yes………..

* To learn more about this specific knife, please click here.

4 Responses to “A gift that’s a cut above the rest”

  1. angie June 25, 2010 at 4:42 am #

    Oh wow that is one impressive looking knife, especially compared to the old one! Lucky you to have such a great friend =)

  2. Simon @ the heart of food July 1, 2010 at 3:43 am #

    I can understand how you went all gaga over this knife. Just so long as you don’t sleep with it at night…

    Aren’t long term friends fantastic? Especially the ones that buy you expensive knives 🙂

    • Sook July 1, 2010 at 4:31 pm #

      Always good to keep those few around eh? ;]

  3. Phuoc'n Delicious July 3, 2010 at 6:35 pm #

    OMG! I want one! That is one sexy knife you have there

Leave a Reply

