Miso Japanese Restaurant, Sydney

15 Dec

Miso Japanese Restaurant
Shop 20, World Square

Sydney City
Tel: (02) 9283-9686
Monday to Friday (Lunch ) : 11:45 – 14:30
Monday to Saturday (Dinner) : 17:30 – 21:30


My friends were talking about this Japanese place in World Square, and went to try it out for themselves while I was busy. They went back the next day, and I wondered, was it that good? I was pretty happy with the places I already knew, but I was interested. I haven’t seen the place or really heard of the place yet, but I knew it was from the same people who gave us Makoto (which I LOVE, unfortunately – pocket problems) and Musashi (which I heard about but never tried), the Masuya Group. I admit, the association was a real big push in getting me to commit to trying it out.

The first attempt was disappointing, realising they did not serve lunch on the weekends and even dinner on Sundays. I’m not in full understanding of this, WK suggested it could be due to the working crowd? Probably. So bare in mind the opening times!

We finally made it the day Princess and WK left to go back to Singapore, and I went for the Miso Katsu Set, which seemed like a specialty to me, and probably is.

* taken with iPhone

I was pleased when the it came with the miso paste came separately instead of on top of the katsu as seen in the menu pictures, because it meant you are able to fully enjoy the crispiness of the katsu, and have the option of tasting the true flavour and quality of the pork. Free-range, and from Otway Park, Victoria. — Hm does that mean Victoria has better pigs than New South Wales..??  Anyway, good battering + bread crumbing + frying at the right temperature and length of time = delightfully crispy! :]

After that good first experience, I was dying to try the other thing on the menu I was eyeing along with the miso katsu. And that was the Eel and Eel Don. (Forgot to take a photo then, was too hungry!)

You would think, ‘Just name it the usual ‘Unagi Don’..’ but it’s not really like the usual unagi don.To distinguish it, probably, one piece is grilled with the sweet soy sauce, but another piece is simply grilled. So it offers 2 tastes. Which I personally enjoyed more. I am a big fan of unagi don, but it was nice to eat the simple grilled version, without the aid of the sweet soy sauce, so I could taste the lovely flavour of the eel itself. I truly enjoyed it; so tender it practically melts away in your tongue, so full of flavour, with the slightly chewy skin and plump flesh (it must have been a meaty eel!).. to alternate between 2 great tastes of the same eel, was right up my alley. Oh man, I’m craving again… :S

3rd visit: I had the Sesaragi Don, which consisted of assorted sashimi marinated with grated horseradish & soy mirin egg yolk sauce. I don’t eat wasabi and generally avoid it (don’t be too surprised just because I eat superly spicy Korean food – it’s just different!), so hence I wasn’t sure about the horseradish sauce. But the company I had suggested I try it since it was the sauce that seemed interesting to try.

Let’s just say, I’m still not the biggest fan of wasabi.

The sashimi was not bad, and despite my personal preferences, the sauce was alright. But the portion served was lacking, I would think, especially for someone who might love their wasabi, ie. my dad.

I was still craving to try the curry at Miso so by the time it came for BFAM’s virgin visit to Miso, my chance had come. I had previously heard it was different to the usual curries, and when I asked how so, I got the annoyingly vague response of “It’s just.. different.” . Helpful……. Well nothing like trying it yourself!

Katsu Curry

Chunks of pork loin skewered with onion, battered, crumbed, and deep-fried. Served with pickles, rice, and a tasty, thick, slightly sweet-ish curry. My friend was right. It was… different. In a good way, because I did like it! The katsu was more the highlight for me than the curry though, again a personal preference. I loved how different it tasted because it felt different and stands out from the rest, something special. But it didn’t make me go like, WOW, as when I had the curry from Menya (Will talk more about it sometime later). Still, I ate more than I should have, as I do with curries, yummy ones at that, much to the amusement of BFAM. -.-

He, on the other hand, settled on a bento set he had his eyes on for a while now.

Hokkaido Bento Set

There were so many things to try on his set but I had some of the skewered tofu, which was not bad, but having it cold, was not the most pleasurable experience. Blame it on the anal-retentive with his new DSLR baby, who turns out to truly be like my sister, and have the food cold by the time the photo-taking is over. geez.

Karaage on the side.

It was yummy, but again, not knowing if it sat for too long, because it was soggy on the underside, with a slight crunch on the top. Yummy, but no wow-factor for me.

So. Miso. 4 times. 3 weeks. I must be mad, but for the mid-range Japanese restaurant, I think it’s worth it, for the quality. I’ll definitely be back to try more dishes!

Leave a Reply

